Quick and Easy Healthy Flapjack

Hello again and welcome to the new category on the blog… food!

To kick start this section I’m sharing an easy healthy flapjack recipe with you. It literally takes no time to throw together so is the ideal activity to do on a Sunday afternoon or on a weekday evening.

IMG_4481 (Edited)

I hadn’t made this before but it’s already become one of my favourites and I know it’ll be a recipe that I go back to time and time again. I really like flapjack but it contains so much butter and syrup and sometimes it can be too sweet. Plus, a small slice is sky high in calories! So I’ve created a recipe that is healthier and more nutritious. It doesn’t have the high fat content and it contains ingredients that are slower release so it will keep you fuller for longer. Perfect for a mid morning or mid afternoon snack at work!

IMG_4487

This recipe is packed full of lots of tasty ingredients but the great thing about it is that it can be easily adapted. I created it based on my what we had in the cupboards and what I know I like, so you can do the same.

One of the best things about these flapjack is how well they freeze. You can make these at a weekend and then dip into the freezer for them during the week. My tip would be to divide the flapjacks into squares and individually wrap them in clingfilm before putting in a sandwich bag in the freezer. You can take them out one by one and they defrost before you know it! Take one out in the morning before work and they’re good to go by the time you want a little pick me up mid morning.

IMG_4482

Prep time: 10/15 mins  Cooking time: 1 hour  Quantity: Makes 16 squares

Ingredients:

  • 250g oats
  • 50g butter
  • 1.5 tsp peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 apple, peeled and grated
  • 40g dried apricots, chopped small
  • 60g sultanas
  • 40g mixed seeds (I used pumpkin and sunflower)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 100ml hot water

Optional extras: desiccated coconut, cranberries or other dried fruit

Method:

  • Heat oven to 160C/140C fan. Grease and line a 20cm square tin with grease proof paper.
  • Heat the butter, peanut butter and honey in a small pan until it’s melted.
  • Mash the banana in a bowl and add the grated apple. Pour this mixture into the melted butter and honey mix. Add 100ml of hot water and mix to combine.
  • Tip the oats, apricots, mixed seeds, sultanas and chia seeds into a separate bowl. Add the cinnamon. Pour in the banana mix and stir until everything is coated.
  • Tip into the tin and level the mixture off. Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown.
  • Leave to cool in the tin and cut into 16 squares. Store in an airtight container in the fridge. They will keep for a few days. I generally keep half in the fridge and freeze the other half.

IMG_4488

IMG_4486

Give this quick recipe a go, I promise you won’t regret it. I’m sure you’ll find that friends/family/colleagues will be desperate for you to make more, that’s what happened to me!

Enjoy! And please do let me know if you decide to make them, I’d love to hear what you think.

KP x

Leave a Reply

